IN THE HIGH COURT OF ORISSA AT CUTTACK

W.P.(C) No.3833 of 2022

Sri Debakar Behera

Petitioner

Mr. A.K. Mishra, Advocate

-versus-

State of Odisha and others....Opposite PartiesMr. S.N. Das, ASCMr. Adish Agarwal, Sr. Advocate along with Mr. A.Biswal,
Advocate for IntervenorsMr. Sushant Nanda, Chief Executive, Chilika Development
Authority, Mr. Sarat Mishra, DFO, Chilika Wildlife Division,
Mr. Sashank Sahoo, District Fisheries Officer
CORAM:

THE CHIEF JUSTICE JUSTICE R.K.PATTANAIK

ORDER

10.03.2022

Order No.

04.

1. The Court has been handed over a copy of the minutes of a meeting held on 6th March, 2022 in which experts of the Bombay Natural History Society (BNHS), the Principal Conservator of Forest (Wild Life) & Chief Wild Life Warden, Odisha, Chief Executive, CDA, Director, BNHS, the Director, Fisheries, Odisha, Cuttack, the DFO, Chilika (WL) Division and the District Fisheries Officer (BT), Balugaon participated. A copy of the said minutes be made available to the learned counsel for the parties.

2. In the said meeting, a series of measures have been proposed including restricting the use of motorized boats in the main channels and prohibiting their movement in the sub channels for better conservation of the migratory birds between October and March every year.

3. The DFO, Balugaon has, while appearing in virtual mode, suggested that the Law Department of the Government of Odisha should examine how the Odisha Marine Fisheries Regulation Act, 1981 can be strengthened to formalize the above arrangement.

4. Mr. Das, learned ASC appearing for the State states that the Government will come up with a concrete proposal in this regard by the next date.

5. The Court has also heard the expert from the BNHS. Dr. A. Agarwal, learned Senior counsel appearing for the Interveners states that they will place on record their suggestions by way of an affidavit before the next date.

6. The Court directs that the agreed decisions as extracted in the minutes of the meeting held on 6^{th} March, 2022 will be strictly implemented till further orders.

सत्यमेव जयते

7. List on 6th April, 2022.

(Dr. S. Muralidhar) Chief Justice

(R.K. Pattanaik) Judge